Formula Vee – Regular Chassis Designs on the Grid

Formula Vee boasts a wide range of chassis designs from various manufacturers. Some of the regular and recent Vee designs are detailed here.

Ari / Filari Tasso

Just two Ari’s were homebuilt by John Harrison. One remains a regular entrant on the gird, although it has been much modified and rebuilt by Phil Waterhouse and renamed ‘Filari Tasso’


Based upon the Sheane Mk3 chassis, the Challenger was manufactured by Alan Harding of AHS Motorsport.


The Dominator launched in 2008 and won the Formula Vee championship in 2012 and 2013 in the hands of Paul Smith. The Dominator MK2 is the current design produced by Alan Harding of AHS Motorsport.


Designed by Alan Woodward and Graham Card. A very successful chassis in Formula Vee that has won the championship several times.


The Leastone was built by the Irish based constructor Paul Heavey. The Leastone has won the UK championship five times as well as having multiple successes in the Irish championship.


Father and son team David & James Harridge self-built the two Maverick cars. The Maverick, driven by James, won the Formula Vee UK Championship in 2020 and 2021.


The All Formula Vee Ray cars were designed and built by Bert Ray, only 6 were ever built. All cars are based upon Formula Ford 1600 chassis but were specifically constructed for Formula Vee.


The Scarab is one of the most developed cars on the grid. Mark 2 and 5 cars still compete regularly. The Scarab has been developed and manufactured by Stuart Rolt, Andy Storer and Martyn Donn.


The Sheane was introduced in 2001 by designer David Sheane. It is one of the most popular Irish designed Vees, with plenty of examples on the UK championship gird.


A copy of the US Citation Formula Vee car and built by Mike Steley for the UK market in the early 2000’s. A Spyder won the UK Championship in 2000, 2001 and 2003, driven by Jeremy Clark.


The Storm is built by Steve Glasswell and has proven to be a very competitive car that has won multiple races and the 2017 Championship with Ben Miloudi.


WEV stands for “Worms Eye View” and is a one off design built by Graham Gant. The car has won the championship twice, once with Graham in 2019 and by Craig Pollard in 2022.

Other Formula Vee designs, which are not as common any more include:

  • Ace
  • Belgrave
  • Falcon
  • Kaimann
  • Predator
  • Tumblebug
  • Volkspeed
  • Apal
  • Cavan
  • GB
  • McNamara
  • Rossollini
  • Veemax
  • Monaco
  • Austro
  • Elbee
  • Hawke
  • Merauder
  • TTM – VeeTech
  • Venom
  • Wooler